ITI Journal #4: The Coaching Cycle

The coaching cycle; assessing, setting goals, preparing, implementing and reflecting/debriefing seems a simple set of guidelines. It could be associated with so many things – general teaching practice, incorporating any new classroom practice or school project. As such the ideas within the cycle do seem a familiar concept that I have come across through university studies and other professional development experiences. To be used in association with incoporating a peer coaching plan though, is a different story and is new to me.

 As time goes by I’m getting more comfortable with the idea of introducing this all to my colleagues, and working collaboratively with them. The initial meeting should be an interesting experience, because I will finally be able to put some of my hypothetical ideas to comparison with what points come from the participating teachers.

I expect I will be finding myself consulting with peers within the forums for this subject and with others that I am in contact with throughout the school (including my superiors) and outside of my school environment. Just like with the participating teachers, I think it important that we all have a support network of peers and likeminded people that we can turn to in times of need, or just when we want to bounce an idea or two off. After all, peer coaching is essentially a collaborative effort where we all learn from each other.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

